MiniTool ShadowMaker User Manual

Manage

Manage is a place where you can manage all backup tasks (backup image and file sync). In this interface, you can not only view the state of your backup tasks but also make multiple choices to arrange your backup tasks better.

Note

For normal backup or sync task, it is marked with a green icon; while for the bad task, it is marked with a red icon.

backup state

Manage Backup Image

Check or uncheck "Shut down the computer when all the running backup tasks are finished" option according to your own needs.

manage backup image

Add Backup: if the target backup is not shown here, you can click this button to pick it out from your computer and make it display here manually.

Back up Now: click this button to continue the backup task
Full: choose this option to make a full backup of your existing data on the selected disk or partition
Incremental: choose this option to make an incremental backup on the basis of the last backup
Differential: choose this option to make a differential backup on the basis of the last full backup

full incremental or differential backup type

When you click this button manage on the right side, you will get a drop-down list as follows:

backup image context menu

Browse: use this option to browse and export the selected files.

Step 1. When you click this button, you will see this pop-out interface as follows. Then, please select the backup version you want to browse and click on Next.

browse drive imge wizard

Step 2. When you enter the following interface, you can click on the volume to browse the files on it. At the same time, you can check some files and click on Export button to save them on your computer. Then, click on Finish to quit this interface.

select files from the selected drive image file to restore

Restore: use this option to choose the volumes to restore from the selected backup file. Please see the detailed steps in Restore part.

Mount: use this option to mount the selected backup

Step 1. After clicking Mount, you will enter the following interface. Then, choose the target backup version and click on Next.

choose backup version

Step 2. Select the target partition and click on Finish. Then, press Yes in the pop-out window.

choose a partition to be mounted

Step 3. When this operation is finished, click on OK to quit this interface.

mounting operation is finished

Edit Scheme: use this option to enter Backup Scheme interface and edit it depending on your need. See the details in Backup Scheme part.

backup scheme

Verify: use this option to verify the integrity of the selected backup.

Step 1. Click Verify and you will enter this interface. Select the target backup version and click on Next.

select a backup version

Step 2. The software will begin to verify the selected image file automatically. When this process is finished, please click on OK and Finish to quit this interface.

select a backup version

Delete: use this option to delete the selected backup from this interface.

delete backup files

Edit Schedule: use this option to enter the schedule setting interface and edit it according to your needs. Please see the detailed steps in Schedule Setting part.

edit schedule on backup

Locate Image: use this option to locate to the position of the selected backup directly.

edit schedule on backup

Manage File Sync

file sync manage options

Check or uncheck "Shut down the computer when all the running backup tasks are finished" option according to your own needs.

Add Backup: if the synchronized file is not shown here, you can click this button to pick it out from your computer and make it display here manually.

Sync now: click this button to continue the sync task.

When you click this button manage on the right side, you will get a drop-down list as follows:

context menu of file sync in manage page

Delete: use this option to delete the selected sync task from this interface. Also, you can check the option Delete backup files in the pop-up window to remove the synchronized files in the destination folder.

delete file sync task

Edit Schedule: use this option to enter the schedule setting interface and edit it according to your needs. Please see the detailed steps in Schedule part.

edit schedule of file sync

Edit Source: click this option to edit sync source, for example, add or delete folders or files.

The following is how to add a folder:

Step 1: Click Add button after hitting Edit Source.

click the add button to add sync source

Step 2: Then in the pop-up dialog, choose the files or folders you want to add.

choose files or folders to add to sync source

folder in sync source is added

Note

In the same way, you can delete the folders that you don't want to sync.

Step 3: After clicking the OK button, you will receive a message "Update successfully".

update successfully

Note

Finally, you need to click Sync Now to sync files again after editing source. Later, you can view the updated sync source by clicking the Locate button from the context menu.

Locate: click this button to locate to the position of the destination folder directly.

locate to destination folder